Announcing the 2022 Landscaper of the Year

02 August 2022

Denzell Patelesio wins Natural Habitats 2022 Landscaper of the Year Award, thanks to Advance Landscapes.  

Our Landscaper of the Year awards came to a close on Saturday night with a grand celebration dinner for entrants and their partners. Over 140 nominations were submitted for at total of 50 awards across the regions. 

Chief Executive Officer Gavin Riddle said “it’s a real highlight to be able to recognise and reward our landscapers for their exceptional technical and personal skills. It is this combination of expertise that enables us to deliver and maintain landscapes that exceed our clients expectations.” 

2020 Landscaper of the year Tyla May awards 2022 winner, Denzell Patelesio

Award celebrations took place around the regions over the month of July with all teams getting to enjoy an evening out with their partners. Each regional winner was announced at their respective ceremonies and flown to Auckland for the grand final at Ellerslie Event Centre.  

“This really is the highlight in our landscaping calendar,” says Chief Operations Officer Brian Spencer. “Our teams work hard, particularly through the winter planting season so it’s fantastic to get together and celebrate the work they do, every day.” 


2022 Landscaper of the Year, Denzell Patelesio.
Proudly sponsored by Advance Landscapes 
Commercial Landscaper of the Year, Denzell Patelesio.
Proudly sponsored by Kauri Park
Maintenance Landscaper of the Year, Jeremy Veve.
Proudly sponsored by Makita
Residential & Northland Landscaper of the Year,  Brooklyn Dyke.
Proudly sponsored by Auckland Inground Pools
Waikato Landscaper of the Year, Lauchlan King.
Proudly sponsored by Black Bridge Nurseries 
Wellington Landscaper of the Year, Archie McDonald.
Proudly sponsored by McMud
Christchurch Landscaper of the Year, Martin Holub.
Proudly sponsored by Kauri Park
Queenstown Landscaper of the Year, Peter le Thac 


Best Supporting Landscaper, Dillyn van der Merwe & Rocel Donato 
Proudly sponsored by Forthco
Company Values Champion, Jason Maze 
Client Service Champion, Enzo Sierra  
Best Garden Manager, Jesse Griffiths 
Softscaping Expert, Carlo Perez 

Hardscaping Expert, Teariki Kapi 
Timber Expert, Kimi Manuel 


Best Supporting Landscaper, Harpreet Mahal 
Company Values Champion, Tim White 

Client Service Champion, Sukhjit Cheema
Best Garden Manager, Toto Katuke 

Softscaping Expert, Vipenjot Samrao 

Residential & Northland

Best Supporting Landscaper, Charlie Wright 
Proudly sponsored by Benefitz
Company Values Champion, Brooklyn Dyke 

Client Service Champion, Charlie Wright 

Hardscaping Expert, Guillaume Chabbert 
Timber Expert, Matty Peato 


Best Supporting Landscaper, Ajay Kumar 
Proudly Sponsored by Glenbrook Machinery Hire

Company Values Champion, Steven Speight 
Client Service Champion, Steven Speight 

Best Garden Manager, Stefan Scott 

Softscaping Expert, Tyla May
Hardscaping Expert, Jimson Torriano 
Timber Expert, Jimber Torriano 


Best Supporting Landscaper, David Rawnsley 
Proudly sponsored by Leafland
Company Values Champion, Cameron McDonald 

Client Service Champion, Duncan Banks 

Best Garden Manager, Miri Okeroa 
Softscaping Expert, Nick French 

Hardscaping Expert, David Rawnsley 

Timber Expert, Matthew Parrish 


Best Supporting Landscaper, Jarrod Genet 
Proudly Sponsored by Southernwoods
Company Values Champion, Haylee Gillian 

Client Service Champion, Paul Everest 
Softscaping Expert, Brian Caulfield 

Hardscaping Expert, Lucky Petera 


Best Supporting Landscaper, Cam Hogan 
Proudly sponsored by Easy Big Trees

Company Values Champion, Isabel Thomas-Peters 
Client Service Champion, Grace Olliver 

Best Garden Manager, Isabel Thomas-Peters 

Softscaping Expert, Olivia Ball 

Landscaper of the Year was made possible thanks to our partners

Kauri Park
Black Bridge
Auckland Inground Pools
Glenbrook Machinery Hire
Easy Big Trees
Southern Woods

Join our team of talented landscapers, gardeners, leading hands and team leaders

Back to Articles